Image Alt


La Toya Hankins

National President

Sister La Toya Hankins is the author of SBF Seeking and K-Rho: The Sweet Taste of Sisterhood. She has published multiple short stories with JMS Books, including “Married to the Struggle,” “Heat Wave-Southport,” and “Challah and Calloo.” Her work has been featured in anthologies “Black From the Future,” and “Lez Talk: A Collection of Black Lesbian Short Stories,” published by BLF Press. LaToya is currently serving as Theta Chapter’s Program Director.

Patrick Butler

National Vice President

Lord Patrick D. Butler is a visual artist with a passion for graphic design and abstractions. He has experience with digital design, logos, and illustrations, and has worked to help students discover their artistic passions. He has also helped set up streetwear brands.

Jennifer Samson

National Secretary

Sister Jennifer Samson is a resident of Vancouver, Canada, and the best-selling author of Self-Publishing for Canadians, was the first international at-large initiate of Gamma Xi Phi. She is also the author of the crime/love story Sin City series and co-author of the dark comedy/thriller Billie and Diana series. A graduate of Capilano University, she has also been published in the literary journals Thursday and The Lyre, as well as the BoldPrint book Friends (as Jennifer Cassidy).

Sharnell Bryan

National Treasurer

Sister Sharnell Bryan is a writer, illustrator, trained journalist, and craftswoman. She obtained a Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism from Ball State University, where she became a member of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. Sharnell has won regional awards for her work as an advisor to Omicron Phi Chapter at American University. Sister Sharnell is the 4th National President of Gamma Xi Phi and has served in many other capacities since chartering Beta Chapter in 2011

Melanie Hatter


Sister Melanie S. Hatter is the author of Malawi’s Sisters (Four Way Books 2019), winner of the inaugural Kimbilio National Fiction Prize, selected by Edwidge Danticat. She is also the author of The Color of My Soul, winner of the 2011 Washington Writers’ Publishing House Fiction Prize, and Let No One Weep for Me, Stories of Love and Loss, a collection of short fiction. She is a participating author in the PEN/Faulkner Writers in Schools program in Washington, D.C., and served on the board of the Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation.

Dionne Victoria Milton


Sister Dionne Victoria Milton is a Chicago artist who shares that her artwork is a meditative tool to heal and express the internal landscape of the soul in an external world. Her artwork can be viewed nationally, and she has exhibited internationally. Dionne Victoria has exhibited in the United States Library of Congress, as well as in the Museum of Science and Industry on numerous occasions.

Malcolm Minor


Brother Malcolm Minor is a Founder of Gamma Xi Phi. He was 2nd National President, first President of Alpha Chapter, and charter member of Gamma Chapter in Newark, New Jersey, among many other volunteer roles. He is an actor, singer, and poet. He’s performed on major stages from NJPAC to Madison Square Garden for the McDonald’s Gospel Fest, and Radio City Music Hall. Malcolm holds a BA in Theater from Ramapo College of NJ and an MFA in Acting from the Actors Studio Drama School at Pace University.

Regina Renee Nyègbeh


Sister Regina Renee Nyègbeh is a writer, educator and librarian who is the charter member of Delta Lambda, the at-large chapter of the Far West region. Regina Renee seeks to elevate herself and others through her writing and work as a librarian and teacher.

Shawn Spencer


Brother Shawn Spencer, a photographer, is a charter member of Beta Chapter in Washington, DC. He has served as Beta’s Program Director and as a member of the National Board of Trustees, and as National Vice President

Nette Forné Thomas


A graduate of Montclair State University with a B.A., M.A., and administrative and supervisory certification, Nette Forné Thomas was employed by the Newark Board of Education as an art educator and administrator for thirty-six years. Her art has been exhibited widely, in major African American shows, on college campuses and in regional museums. These include the Studio Museum of Harlem, the “Emerging and Established” exhibit at the Newark Museum, the Women Artist Series at Douglas College, as well as exhibits at Trenton State College, New Jersey City University, Seton Hall University and Rutgers University. Since retiring in 2000, Thomas has served on the Board of Directors at City Without Walls Gallery, The 1978 Maplewood Arts Center, The George Segal Gallery at Montclair State University and Pen + Brush, where she serves as President.

Dionne Victoria Milton

National Nominating Committee Chair

See biography above.

Trenile Tillman, Esq.

National Executive Director

Tue ‒ Thu: 09am ‒ 07pm
Fri ‒ Mon: 09am ‒ 05pm

Adults: $25
Children & Students free

673 12 Constitution Lane Massillon
781-562-9355, 781-727-6090